Search our FAQs

Ask a Question FAQs Printer Friendly Version
Twitter 8     List of Categories





  • How do I approve followers?
    If you have protected your tweets , you can approve followers from your account home page. click here to learn how.

    To top
  • Can I stop if I already start following someone?
    Click here to learn how. Twitter does not send a notification when you unfollow someone.

    If you have requested to follow someone whose Tweets are protected, then change your mind, you can click cancel to undo your follow request. (The cancel button appears on their profile in the same place you clicked the follow button.)

    To top
  • What should I do if I don't want a particular person to follow me?
    block the user from following you. They won't be able to follow you and you will see a blocked button when you visit their profile. To unblock a user you've blocked, visit that user's profile and click the block button on the right-hand side. read more.

    Your Tweets won't appear in their timeline, and if they visit your profile, they will not be able to see any of your Tweets.

    To top
  • Is following the same as someone on other social networks?
    If you want to approve who follows your Tweets, protect your tweets.The same rules apply you can approve followers, but you don't have to follow them back.

    To top
  • What do if I have a follower who posts spam or porn?
    • To learn how to report spam on Twitter, click here.
    • To learn how to report inappropriate content,click here.
    To top
  • What is the difference between a reply and a Direct Message?
    reply is a public message sent regardless of follow-ship. Anyone can view it (if your Tweets are public).

    A direct message is a private message, and can only be seen by the sender and intended recipients.

    To top


  • How does send a Direct Message from your Twitter app?
    1. Tap the envelope icon. You'll be directed to your messages.
    2. Tap the message icon to create a new message.
    3. In the address box, enter the name(s) or @username(s) of the people you wish to send a message to. A group message can include up to 50 people.
    4. Enter your message.
    5. In addition to text, you can include a photo, video, GIF, or send a sticker via Direct Message.
     Tap the camera icon to take a photo or record a video, or attach one from your device gallery. You have the option to edit your photo through your Twitter for iOS or Twitter for Android app before sending your message. Tap on the photo to bring up editing screen where you can enhance, crop, add filters, and add stickers. When you are done editing, tap Save.
    Note: For more information on advanced photo options, read our posting photos or gifs on twitterarticle.
     To include an animated GIF in your message, tap the GIF icon to search for and select a file from the media library.

     To send a sticker, tap the sticker icon before typing your message. Select and tap a sticker from a preselected set, and it will immediately send.

     Tap Send.

    You and anyone else in a conversation can click or tap the more icon (iOS) or the overflow icon (Android) to add new people to the group, view everyone participating in the group, edit the name of the group, turn off notifications for the conversation, or delete the conversation.

    To delete a Direct Message or conversation:

     To delete a Direct Message, tap and hold the message and select Delete from the menu that pops up.

     To delete an entire conversation, swipe left on the conversation and tap the trash can icon (iOS) or tap and hold the conversation and select Delete (Android). You can also delete an entire conversation by tapping the more icon (iOS) or overflow icon (Android) and selecting Delete from the menu that pops up.

     (Android) and selecting Delete from the menu that pops up.

    Continue

    To top
Was this page helpful?